here’s a good thing…

…but it starts in a sad thing.

yesterday, i told my mom, “you know, i feel like i’ve let everyone down. i feel like there were expectations of me in the past that haven’t come to pass, and now people just see me as a loser.”

her initial response? WHAT!!?!?!?!?!?

nearly blew my ear drum.

i explained further, talking about the dreams i had years ago and how many of them had yet to come to pass and those dreams weren’t just for me but for what i would be able to do for my family. i’m a big family person, and it matters to me that i can be there for them.

my mom wouldn’t hear any of this. “no one thinks you’re a disappointment. you haven’t let anyone down. you are not a loser. you do more than anyone i know. hell, i think you do too damn much most of the time. just wait, nellie. just keep moving and going and doing because your dreams will still come true.”

just those words over my phone warmed my sad, cold heart and made me believe maybe the dreams still have a chance of coming true.

